My Brother’s House

Unbeknownst to about 99.9% of the people I know, I have two brothers. Starlight knows now, mostly. So when I learn that I need a costume for a photoshoot, I go right to my brother. Not Grant, because going to Switzerland won’t help me any. But to Maxwell.

Sometimes teleporting is hard for me, but I’ve traveled this route so often that it’s a snap. I land right in front of Maxwell’s cabin. He’s sort of an outlaw, but in reality he’s in self-imposed exile. And at the moment, he’s not here.

“Saxon, dear. So nice of you to drop by.”

I turn around and see Cornelius. I can’t keep the giant grin off my face as I give him a slight bow of respect. If there’s one thing I absolutely miss on Earth, it’s unicorns. Cornelius is the best of them all. “Hello, Cornelius. I’m in a bit of a rush. Is Max here?” Funny how I always slip into my native way of speaking when I’m here.

Cornelius points his horn toward the small shed behind the cabin. “There. He’s cleaning the weapons.”

I nod and turn to leave, then pause. “And… Fiona?”

He laughs, deep and sweet. “You needn’t worry. She is with Elliot on a mission.”

Good. Maxwell’s too different when she’s around. I head over to the shed and hear Cornelius soft hoofbeats as he follows me, probably curious. When I enter the shed, Max looks up. His eyes pop wide open and he drops his cleaning cloth, hurrying over and giving me a hug. “How’re you doing? Why are you here?”

I explain everything that’s happened as well and as quickly as I can. His frown deepens as I speak, and when I finish, he gives me a serious look. “I don’t like it.”

I shrug. “I didn’t think you would. I can’t get out of it now. I just need the outfit I have here.”

We walk to his cabin together in silence. Cornelius joins us and comes in with us – Maxwell made the cabin with Cornelius in mind, so it doesn’t feel crowded even with a unicorn in it. I’m just glad he didn’t make it so his giant (literally) friend could fit. That would’ve been terrible. I grab the clothes and give Max one last hug.

He squeezes my shoulder. “Be careful.”

I look him in the eye. “I will.”