Oh So Dangerous

I feel like bashing my head on the table. Starlight thinks this is dangerous. Well, duh. Just having powers is dangerous. Being in a group would actually be safer in some ways, since we could watch each others’ backs and all that. Lannis motions Starlight to the booth, and she sits down, very reluctantly.

“Very impressive stalking skills, Lannis,” I say, my voice purposefully low, disguised. “I’m sure the FBI would be pleased to have you on their side.”

A tinge of pink creeps into her cheeks. Embarrassed and indignant, I note. “I wasn’t stalking,” she says defensively. “But really, it wasn’t that hard. Starlight was easy, since she’s a public figure, but I had to do a little digging for you and Rebecca. Speaking of you, are you planning on revealing yourself? It’s not going to work well if you don’t.”

I pick up my mug of whipped cream and slurp some up, letting them admire the disappearing whipped cream. I set it down without answering. I would rather delay Rebecca finding out as long as possible. Although the whipped cream should be a give away.  Lannis clears her throat. “I don’t want to give your identity, but it’s really not fair if you’re invisible. We’re all being candid here. You should, too.”

I reach into my pocket and pull out an envelope and hand it to Rebecca. As soon as she sees the name and address on the back, she looks at me. Or where I am. “Oh my goodness! Saxon! You too?”

I turn visible. “I never would have guessed that you had powers,” I tell her. “Wonderful job of hiding them.”

I’m not sure whether that’s confusion or shock in her eyes. She seems at a loss for words. “Does…” She motions towards the envelope. “Does he know?”

“Grant? No way.” He’d be such a bother if he knew. My only real confidant is Maxwell, and now, apparently, these four girls. “Let’s get back to business,” I suggest.

Lannis nods. “Like Starlight said, this is definitely dangerous. But after what we did the other night, I couldn’t help but think that we should make a support group. Hence this meeting and, as Saxon put it, my ‘stalking’.”

“Let it be noted that I am against the idea,” the red-haired girl states. I’m pretty sure Lannis said her name was Audrey.

I lean forward. “I’m pretty sure Lannis and Rebecca are the only ones who are completely supportive of this and interested in it.” After all, Lannis had the idea, and she wouldn’t have contacted us if she didn’t want to do it, and Rebecca… well, I can read her like a book. After all, she’s practically dating my brother.

Starlight glowers at me. “Tone down your ego a little and let Lannis talk, would you?”

Speaking of egos. I lean back and sip my whipped cream. “Sure, Star.”

Her glare turns frigid. So I was right, it does annoy her. Ha. Lannis sighs, looking even more tired. “This isn’t something any of us have to do, but I think it’s a good idea. And we already know each others’ identities, or most of us do, I guess.”

Starlight’s gaze narrows behind her mask. “I’m not revealing my identity,” she says firmly.

Lannis holds up her hands. “Well, I didn’t mean–”

There’s a crash of shattering glass and three people burst into the diner, black stocking caps pulled over their heads to cover their faces, with only crudely cut eyeholes to see through. And they’re holding guns, of course.

“Don’t move!” one of them, apparently the boss, yells. “Z, get the cash!”

Creative, using letters instead of names. Sarcasm, of course. One of them heads over to the cash register as the other two make us put our hands flat on the table, their guns trained on us. I consider teleporting behind them or something, but honestly, I can’t risk them accidentally shooting somebody. The other girls sit, frozen, their minds probably racing like mine.

“Grab one of them and get out of here,” the leader growls. Oh darn. We’re in big time trouble.

7 thoughts on “Oh So Dangerous

  1. coruscantbookshelf April 6, 2015 / 8:45 PM

    This is wonderful… I’ve just been listening and I already know all your names, which of you know each other, and even some relatives and an address.

    Like

  2. erinkenobi2893 April 7, 2015 / 8:38 PM

    And the ball passes back to me… Now I’ve got to figure out what to do with it. (I suppose this means that we will finish the meeting later.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment